Is there a way to cancel this ?
Sending a view relationship request does two things: first, it sends a message to the person, requesting that they enable relationship viewing. That obviously can't be undone, but a message can be deleted or ignored.
Second, it sets the status of the recipient so that the system remembers that they have been asked to enable relationship viewing. Then other users will also see that the request is pending and will not be able to send additional requests. If the request could be revoked, then other users could could send requests, perhaps annoying the recipient, who quite possibly has no desire to enable relationship viewing.
Thank you. So there are three states for this - not (yet) enabled, enabled, and requested.
Would it not be sensible to have a fourth state indicating that a person explicitly does not want to enable relationship viewing ?
That's a reasonable suggestion. Of course the person could change their mind, but it still could be helpful to show other users that hat particular user has chosen not to enable relationship viewing.