Change what guests see when discussion is moved
As a Family Search support missionary, I would like to make a suggestion.
One thing that frustrates guests no end is going to their discussion only to see "This discussion has been moved" and when they click on it to get the "Permission Restricted" page. That is not helpful to the guest. It would be better if there were some explanatory sentence like: "This discussion has been moved to: <link>." Then if the discussion has been moved to a team outside of the general public view, when the patron clicks on the link, it would be better to see something like: "Your questions is being handled by the team that responds to these types of requests. They will be in touch with you via messaging in the community. Please watch your messages in the top right corner for any questions they may have." Or some other wording like that.
I believe this will help our guests to feel as valued as they are by those of us who try to support them. This has been suggested before and someone actually wrote up a beautiful response in this discussion: https://community.familysearch.org/en/discussion/comment/265182#Comment_265182. Check the third response by Gordon Collett
Even better: revise the procedure completely so that escalated posts don't disappear.
I mean, think about it: if it's escalated, it means there's a recognized problem. What are the chances that this problem affects only that one user? I would say that that chance is zero. (Negative zero, if there were such a thing.) In other words, the post should become MORE visible, so that others with the same problem can get an answer, too.0
@Patty K R O & @Julia Szent-Györgyi Thank you both (and many more) who have raised this as an issue. We're working on a solution that would leave the post intact and visible. We still need some time to finalize the details, and will have more information early next week.1