What happens when a FamilySearch User passes away?
What happens when a FamilySearch User passes away? What happens to their account?
What happens to the items they have uploaded to FamilySearch?
This link gives a deeper answer to the question than most people usually give - and provides tips not often offered.
I highly suggest understanding the issue.
When a user with an account with family search passes away the account is frozen. Here is how that happens. If the user is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints the ward clerk is notified of the death of that member and using the provided computer puts that death date and location in the Church Membership Information system. That death information is then transmitted to the church in Salt Lake City electronically into the membership department and then to the membership department of family search. Once that has taken place the deceased members account is frozen and can't be repointed. At that time any and all memories be they pictures or documents will be lost unless they are tagged to the ID of one of the deceased members ancestors.0
"At that time any and all memories be they pictures or documents will be lost unless they are tagged to the ID of one of the deceased members ancestors."
This is simply not correct.
see my original post:
Any items a persons has uploaded to FS memories - are just as accessible after the users death as they were before their death. It is true that if they are marked as PRIVATE they cannot be accessed - but that was true even before their death.
Any posted memories that are public - are still there and accessibl even after the user's death.
and if people had the URL to the item or the album - they can still access them. Or they can FIND them using the find option.0
Can i provide information to a family member so when I pass away unexpectedly, it can be viewed?0
Give me a little background.
why cant it be shared now?? (why do we need to wait until you are deceased?)
one great way is to put it in a FS Album - and then share the URL of the album with the people you want to have access to.0