What happens to sources of duplicate person when merging on Family Tree?
I can't seem to find the answer on the Help option. Are we not able to transfer part of the duplicate's information to the new one?
P.S. I did not merge these two individuals! I only used them to show what the sourcing looks like in a merge!
Anne, Thanks for the answer. I was too nervous to do it without knowing. I should have known that FamilySearch would have it covered. Elaine
Glad to help!
The sources from the deleted individual should automatically be moved over to the individual that is being kept. On Step 2 of 3: Select the information you want to save the sources at the bottom of the page will look like this:
The source in green/yellow is the only source that was listed on the individual being deleted and, as you can see, automatically moved by the merge system to the individual being kept. You can Undo and that would NOT attach the source to the individual being kept.