Unmerge and Collaboration Items
It has been my experience that when an unmerge of records is initiated, the items found under the Collaboration tab remain with both records. This causes confusion since the purpose of the unmerge is to cause separation and distinguish differences between the two records in question. The only option available at this point to complete the unmerge is to physically delete the items individually. My suggestion is to attach the Collaboration items to their original record, so that when an unmerge occurs the Collaboration items only follow the original record and are automatically deleted from the merged record.
Gordon Collett ✭✭✭✭✭
You definitely see this when doing an Unmerge? You don't mean a Restore?
I tested this out in the Beta site and things are working as they should:
Before a merge:
After the merge:
After the unmerge:
Each back to having just his own note.
Things only work this way when you are unmerging. If any edits have been done, then unmerging is no longer available. You can only use Restore which works quite differently.
Since everything is supposed to be undone in a merge, including notes, as shown here on the Beta site, if you really have seen this not work properly on the production site then either a bug has crept in or there was a temporary server glitch when you had this happen.
You should post the ID numbers of the people involved so the engineers can trace through exactly what happened in the situation you saw and figure out what went wrong.0
Honestly, I have changed things back so many times I can't be sure which one I last used. I believe that it was unmerge, but I have used both. I'll pay more attention the next time it happens. Thank you for the clarification. I will be more precise next time.0