Is it possible to delete a contribution
I was working with my friend on her tree and was explaining the exclamation mark on an address. The address needed to be standardised and so I showed her how to do this.
Unfortunately my friend did not realise her name would be against the contribution. Because of possible family conflict is there a way to delete the contribution.
The address did not change.
Because we want to be able to track all changes that are made in Family Tree, each time we work in Family Tree, our Contact Name will show as the contributor of changes we have made. That information remains in the Latest Changes and cannot be edited or removed, however, if someone else comes along and works in the same field later, their changes will show as the most recent contributor. This does not remove what we did, but it does change what shows as the most recent work done to an ancestors details page.
Many users also choose to "follow" certain ancestors so that they are made aware of any changes that are made so if you were signed in as a Helper for your friend, she will remain as a contributor on the page that was changed.
Since collaboration is an important part of working in a Worldwide Family Tree that can be edited by all of our users, we hope there will not be a family conflict especially if all that was needed was for a location to have a standardized location. Perhaps your friend will want to add an additional note to the information that was standardized verifying that she was just trying to improve the quality of the location by linking it to a standardized place. You did not indicate whether or not you included a reason statement for the change, but most changes do have a reason field that can be edited to include a reason.
To review how others might follow ancestors and the purpose and use of the Latest Changes, please review the knowledge articles below. We have also provided a knowledge article about why we want to use reason statements when we make changes. We hope you will find these articles from the FamilySearch Help Center helpful.
Best wishes as you continue to work in Family Tree. We will be moving this discussion to the Family Tree category so that others with similar questions will find the discussion.0
What kind of "Family Conflict" are you referring to? Are there bad feelings between her and a close relative and that other relative will be furious to see her name there, or is this a matter of personal saftey? To see if that is the case, @CDBurk, could a private message be sent to get details about this conflict and if appropriate send this to the engineers to see if an exception could be made to the "no changes ever to the change log" fundamental policy and hide her name?
The only thing I can think of otherwise is to for you, @AnneBell1, to go in as yourself and make an non-edit to the addresses that will not change in the information that will at least get your friend's name off the details view of the address. If you make three insignificant changes, that would also get her name off the Recent Changes list in the right hand column of the detail page. Then she could hope that this relative is someone that never checks the Change Log.
Also, if you open any editing box, you can see if anyone is following the person in question:
If it only lists past contributors, then no one will get an e-mail about the change. If someone is following, and it is that other person, he or she will get an e-mail about the edit and I doubt there is anyway to stop that at this point.0
In addition to the comments above, you also have the option of changing your contact name so that it is something less recognizable to others -- that is, an "alias" of some kind. Your email and phone number can be kept private, too. Here is a link to the knowledge article that discusses how to update your contact settings:
When you make a change to your contact name, the change appears on any contribution you have made at any time in the past to Family Tree.
Hoping this will help you with the issue you are experiencing.1
And consider turning off relationship viewing if she has it permitted currently. That is also found under Settings.1