Home› Ask a Question› Memories

Why is the button labeled "SKIP" when adding memories?

Clifton Laney
Clifton Laney ✭
September 22 in Memories

When adding a memory (drag and drop) why is the button at the bottom of the screen labeled "SKIP"? It seems counterintuitive. Wouldn't it be better to label the button "OK"? Just saying.

Add memories.jpg
Add memories.jpg 148.1K
1

Answers

  • lindsayanngermer1
    lindsayanngermer1 ✭✭
    September 22

    @Clifton Laney

    The SKIP button is used because filling out the detail form immediately after uploading is completely optional. Your file is already uploaded and safe!The form that pops up is just a quick way to add extra context if you want to. The button is labeled SKIP rather than OK for a couple of reasons:

    • It lets you bypass the step: Clicking SKIP simply means you want to leave the details blank for now. The memory is still saved in your gallery, and you can edit or tag it whenever you like.
    • It prevents feeling forced: If the button said OK, it might make people feel like they have to fill out every single box before they are allowed to finish the upload.

    Essentially, SKIP is just the system's way of saying, "Your file is uploaded! You don't have to type out these details right now if you are in a hurry."

    I hope that makes sense. If you have any further questions, feel free to reach out again. I hope this answered your question.

    2
  • lindsayanngermer1
    lindsayanngermer1 ✭✭
    September 22

    The SKIP button is used because filling out the detail form immediately after uploading is completely optional. Your file is already uploaded and safe!The form that pops up is just a quick way to add extra context if you want to. The button is labeled SKIP rather than OK for a couple of reasons:

    • It lets you bypass the step: Clicking SKIP simply means you want to leave the details blank for now. The memory is still saved in your gallery, and you can edit or tag it whenever you like.
    • It prevents feeling forced: If the button said OK, it might make people feel like they have to fill out every single box before they are allowed to finish the upload.

    Essentially, SKIP is just the system's way of saying, "Your file is uploaded! You don't have to type out these details right now if you are in a hurry."

    If that makes sense. I hope that helps a little. Feel free to reach out again with comments or questions.

    0
  • ILUVGen38L0gy
    ILUVGen38L0gy ✭✭✭
    September 22

    I agree that it should say, "okay," or, possibly, "Submit."

    0
  • AmberML1
    AmberML1 ✭✭✭✭
    September 22

    @MrsLCJ and @Clifton Laney

    Thank you for providing feedback—understanding guest confusion is helpful. We will make sure we share this note with the Memories Team.

    But for all other guests, just remember what @lindsayanngermer1 shared….Skip means "skip adding additional details." If you look at the image below, you can see, if you add details, it will then say continue.

    Screenshot 2026-09-22 at 9.40.02 AM.png
    Screenshot 2026-09-22 at 9.40.02 AM.png 1.4M
    2
Clear
No Groups Found

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 47.8K Ask a Question
  • 7.7K Family Tree
  • 6.3K Search
  • 5.5K General Questions
  • 7K Get Involved
  • 1.2K Memories
  • 343 Other Languages
  • 83 Community News
  • Groups