Home› Ask a Question› Memories

Can Admin remove photos from Memories?

Paul W
Paul W ✭✭✭✭✭
August 27 edited August 27 in Memories

I just read the closed discussion at

https://community.familysearch.org/en/discussion/171862/can-i-delete-a-photo-in-memories-or-remove-it

whereby it is confirmed only the individual who added the photo can remove it. I can see the reasoning behind this, but is there no way of getting a photo removed that appears to have no connection whatsoever to the profile to which it is attached?

I have tried to contact the user concerned, but they have not responded to my query on why they should have attached the photo. At worst, users could attach pictures of cartoon characters, photos of famous landmarks, or any other irrelevant material, so surely these items should not be allowed to remain attached indefinitely?

(See https://www.familysearch.org/en/tree/person/memories/LDM9-WPX )

1

Answers

  • shecorwe
    shecorwe admin
    August 27

    @Paul W I was able to detach the photo from Abraham

    2
  • Paul W
    Paul W ✭✭✭✭✭
    August 27

    @shecorwe

    Thank you so much! I'm glad you were able to confirm there was no evidence of a connection between the lady shown in the photo (possibly a 19th century portrait of someone related to mainland Europe) and Abraham, who died in England in 1758. I would always wish to collaborate with the other user over such matters, but sadly they had not responded to my Chat message.

    2
  • Nyx773
    Nyx773 ✭✭✭✭
    August 27

    @Paul W
    It’s true that users can’t Delete memories or sources created by others.
    But you can Detach them:

    https://www.familysearch.org/en/help/helpcenter/article/how-do-i-correct-memories-that-are-linked-to-wrong-person-in-family-tree
    2
  • shecorwe
    shecorwe admin
    August 27

    @Nyx773 thank you for sharing that link! I came back to post it and you beat me to it.

    @Paul W Nyx773 is correct, I could have showed you how to do it, but chose to do it for you. Now you know what to do if it happens again.

    2
  • Áine.ní.Donnghaile
    Áine.ní.Donnghaile ✭✭✭✭✭
    August 28

    I often use the "detach" option on irrelevant memories when I can't reach the OP. My concern is that the memory is still afloat in the tree and could be reattached by the original contributor or anyone else.

    2
  • Paul W
    Paul W ✭✭✭✭✭
    August 28

    Thank you all for your advice, especially @Nyx773 for the link to the relevant article. Hopefully, I won't have the need to take this action again, at least for some time. I'm quite happy with the fact I can only detach, rather than delete the item as - in some cases - there just could be some reason I'd missed that would make the attachment justified, in spite of its apparent irrelevance to the individual concerned.

    3
Clear
No Groups Found

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 47.6K Ask a Question
  • 7.7K Family Tree
  • 6.2K Search
  • 5.5K General Questions
  • 7K Get Involved
  • 1.2K Memories
  • 342 Other Languages
  • 83 Community News
  • Groups