While adding a person to my Family Tree, I created a record for a person that doesn't exist. I'm so confused!
You can delete a deceased person's record from Family Tree if you are the one that created the record and no other contributor has changed it. The message "Delete Person Unavailable" appears if you cannot delete a person.
You can also delete a living person's record if it appears in your private spaces.
When you delete a record, these changes occur:
We cannot delete people; we merge them instead. Here is a copy and paste from the Help Center in FamilySearch on how to merge duplicates. The person you created is the "duplicate".
How do I merge possible duplicates in Family Tree?
Article Id: 935, Published September 15, 2020A duplicate record occurs when Family Tree contains more than one record about a person. If Family Tree finds a possible duplicate, it puts a red exclamation point, along with the name and ID Number, in the person’s Research Helps.
You can review the possible duplicates and decide if they are about the same person.
Immediately after the merge and for a short time, an “undo” option is available. It lets you easily unmerge the two records.