Shared the link with family, but they don't see the updates they have made
I created a family tree on the site. I shared the link with my family and asked them to add to the tree. The family has indicated they made additions to the tree. I know where I should see it. But I don't see where they have made additions to the tree.
Another example is. I added my own mother and siblings to the tree. I can see it. However my niece is looking at the tree and does not see it. How can I rectify that?
If you are referring to living people you have entered, other family members can only make edits to those living people if you have granted them helper access.
If you are referring to deceased people you have entered, any user of Family Tree can see those people and edit them since there is just one, universal tree for all deceased people. No one needs any type of helper access to edit deceased people.0
I want to give a family member, "Helper Access". However I've searched your website. But it doesn't advise on how to share the "helper access" and how the person uses the "helper access" code? How does the "helper access" work?0
Chas Howell ✭✭✭✭✭
@Ang123 , your family member needs to sign-in to FamilySearch Family Tree with their own account first. Then they click the question mark in the little circle in top right area of the screen then click "Helper Resources" then click "+Add Someone" then"Add by Email" then they enter your Name and email address. This sends you an invitation to allow them to be your Helper. After you respond to that email you will then be in your friends planner.
Currently the helper function is only available to members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The permission you give to allow someone to be your helper will expire after one year. You may want to visit with a Temple and Family History Consultant in your Ward for a little one on one help because they use the Helper function in their calling.
Now there is another way your family member can access the helper function by using the Life Preserver Icon, but I really don't know if that method will survive when FamilySearch changes over to the final new pages which I think will happen later in March. But if they want to give that method a try, have them click on the Life Preserver Help Other Icon. They will need your Helper number AND you Username for that method.0
When you create person records for living people, no one can see those records except you. If you mother and siblings are alive, they will have to create their own records and their own version of you, too, in order to connect to a shared, deceased ancestor whom you all will be able to see. I hope that helps.3
information for living persons is kept PRIVATE - for security, privacy, legal issues.
Thanks for sharing.0
Check out this Help Center article for more information:0
@Ang123, only LDS accounts on FamilySearch can get "Helper Access" to another person's account. (Not having such an account myself, that's all I know about it.)0
Thank you for your all your responses. They were very helpful.0
mod note - Three discussions on the same subject were merged to create this one.0