I've been working on a long batch and a couple of days ago I got a message saying that it was a shared batch and that it may not be saved or submitted. I learned the hard way that it was correct--my work and later submission was not saved or submitted. Should I keep waiting for the message that it's a shared batch to go away, or should I stop working on that batch by closing it?
If you get the message that it's a shared batch, that means it's a batch that someone else has checked out to index and that person is the only one that can save and submit it. That person either here or somewhere else has "shared" his batch so others can see it and help him with a particular question about it. Somehow you got the share batch link or code. You're wasting your time working on a shared batch because nothing you do to it will save because it's not your batch. That batch should disappear if you close it.1