If I would disable relationship viewing does that make it more difficult for others to view your tree????
No. Turning off relationship viewing does not affect anyone else's ability to view your tree. It simply means that they won't be able to see how you are related to each other -- that is -- are you second cousins, third cousins, etc.
Here is what the knowledge article says about Relationship Viewing:
"Family Tree is a growing collection of family genealogies, contributed by people from all over the world, over many years.
"The shared nature of the tree makes it possible for users to see how they are related to each other, if both users have enabled relationship viewing.
"When you enable relationship viewing you agree to allow other users to see certain aspects of your account:
"The relationship information is available when another user clicks your contact name in Family Tree or Memories. An option to view the relationship is displayed, along with the contact details.
"You can enable or disable relationship viewing in your account settings."
I'm hoping this answers your question.
It does not impact their ability to view the deceased portion of your family tree.
BUT whether or not the flag is set - they will never be able to see the LIVING people in your tree (such as YOU)
Thus the relationship flag is nice to have set - (depending on your own personal decisions/preferences) - because a person will not be able to visually see how you are inter connected - so the relationship setting allows for them to know what the relationship is - even if they cant see the exact chart to see how you are connected.
I am still confused.
relationship viewing allows for a person to see for example that YOU and THEM are "2nd cousins" - just as an example
without the flag set - they will NOT be able to see that indication of relationship.
but whether or not the flag is set - all of us - can see any deceased person in the family tree database (including your deceased ancestors) - we cannot see under any circumstances the living people in your "private space" (which includes YOUR personal record of you.) - this due to security and privacy issues.
also note that we do not each have our own family tree database
RATHER we share use of a single massively large database of billions of people
it is not like Ancestry where each person has there own private tree.
here it is all a shared collaborative database that we can all access and even update,
The one exception to that is records for living persons that you have entered - they remain forever private to YOU only - in what is referred to as YOUR "private space"
Keep in mind they cannot see any living person you have entered
they can only see deceased people you have entered
also note you do NOT have a private copy of your family tree -
BOTH you and them are working together (albeit maybe not happily :-) ) on the same family tree records
That is by intentional sytem design (even if you are only realizing it now)
since this is a collaborative database we all share access.
One person - would/should only have one record in the entire system
the record of your deceased grandfather (if he is deceased) - is the same database record that any of the rest of us see (and can update)
can you give some examples of incorrect updates and the corresponding ID's for such so that we can take a look,
also note that if your expectation was that you would have your own private family tree - that is just not the design of FamilySearch. There are programs that allow for totally private databases
such as ROOTSMAGIC, ANCESTRAL QUEST, FTM< LEGACY and many others.
I HIGHLY recommend you watch this video: (skip the ads)
I know this is collaborative but when it comes to my Grandparents who only had one son, which is my Dad, and my parents had six children, this person is skating on thin ice!!!!! This person tried to add my Dad and had him deceased, and he is living!!!!! This individual needs to start messaging me when they see something that doesn’t change so I can check my Emhuff family book!
I have purchased Ancestral Quest, and I plan to start using that, and then will start unattaching stuff from Family Search, and if anyone wants to mess up the tree let them have at it!!!!!
I have already reported the issues!!!!
there is no need to unattach anything
as stated previously they cannot see any living records you have entered They did however (based on what you say) enter their own record for your Dad - marking him as deceased. ( I have no idea if they did that intentionally of course)
if they are intentionally adding your dad as deceased (knowing that he is not) - that would be considered abuse. repeated abuse - if reported - would ultimately end up in that user being restricted from the system - if they continued.
also there is nothing in FS guidelines that says person X needs to ask person Y for permission to update a record for a deceased person (even if that deceased person is your direct ancestor).
BUT if they are intentionally entering a living person as deceased - that is a violation of conduct rules.
I always message someone if I see something that doesn’t jive. I don’t want to change anything after they have worked hard on their tree. Messaging a person before changing anything is more polite. That way they can have a chance to do more research; etc.
She entered my Dad has deceased and then deleted it!!!!! I am so upset about this, I have been in tears over this!!!
if you have been in tears about it - then you most definitely need your own private database . . ..
Am going to start doing that. I think I will be a lot happier having my own private tree.
The long and the short of it ...
You ONLY need to "Enable" that "Relationship Viewing"; IF (and, ONLY, if), you WANT to 'see' the ACTUAL "Relationship" between, yourself; and, another (Living) User/Patron.
You DO NOT need to have "Relationship Viewing" enabled all the time - if fact, best not too.
Sometimes, you; or, another (Living) User/Patron, may have (or, built) a good repour (Hm...); and, you or they asks the OTHER to, "Enable" that "Relationship Viewing", just to 'see' how you are both (actually) related.
That Said ...
In answer to your original 'Question' ...
"Turning Off" (ie. 'Disabling'), the "Relationship Viewing", has NO bearing, on what OTHER Users/Patrons 'see' of the "Deceased" individuals/person in "Family Tree" of 'FamilySearch', with regard to your "Ancestral" Lines.
"Turning Off" (ie. 'Disabling'), the "Relationship Viewing", simply disables another User/Patron from 'seeing' the DIRECT "Link" to YOU; especially, through any of the "Living" individuals/persons, in your "Ancestral" Lines, in the "Private Spaces", of your 'FamilySearch' Account.
Unless, I know (or, at least, started-up a repour with) a User/Patron, I DO NOT "Enable" that "Relationship Viewing" - NO real need.
As usual ...
Just my thoughts.