what happens when detach someone
Answers
-
This question is a little vague, so sorry if my answer goes sideways of what you were thinking.
When you remove someone from the FamilyTree, by disconnecting spousal, parental, and child relationships — the Person entry becomes a free floating entry in FamilySearch. While not connected to any family members, up-down-or sideways; the entry and information about that individual remains. Sources that were attached, remain linked unless specifically un-linked.The question arises as to how and why was the person created in FamilySearch in the first place? What initial source was used to create the entry - this will help to find the true and original relationships that belong. This will also help in the process to find if there was a bad merge via a common name mixup, or some other user error; or perhaps it is just a slight spelling/scribners/indexing error that gives a different name, but in reality is the same person.
These help articles are awesome to read/review to glean information as to how and why FamilySearch works and how to use it properly to justify and document the FamilyTree. Good information to be had.
2
