What happens to my account when I remove my name from church records?
Does my existing account close and require me to create a new account and attach it to my parents? Or do I keep my account and lose certain features like the ability to see ordinances?
Your account will remain but will change to a non-member account and, as you suggest, you will lose access to features for members only.3
Hi Graham, quick follow up question on this: What would the previous member's parents see if they were to log in? I have a friend who left the church and had their records removed, and they're worried that their parents will log in and see that they've removed their records.0
@Jason Anthony Johnson I haven't noticed anything different when logging in and seeing my brother's name on stuff (he recently had his records removed), so unless there's some way to really dig into a user's profile that I'm not aware of, it's likely impossible for that change to be reflected on FamilySearch in any visible way.0
Remember that a record for a living person is only visible to the person who created it. The parents will not be able to see the record of a living son that was created originally by that son. They may have created their own version of a record for their son but that is only visible to them and is a completely different record. Thus changes to one record are not reflected in the other record.1