I have photo's that I am making private because everyone is living but I would like tp share with them, can I do that and if so how?
Attention: @Dennis J Yancey ( Dennis, perhaps, you may like to respond, to this particular "Question". )
the whole point of making items private is so that others will NOT see them. That includes anyone and that is to ensure that with virtual 100% confidence - no one will see them but you.
NOW having said that
if you do post items as PUBLIC - and dont link them to any deceased individual
AND if you leave off any title or description
THEN no one will be able to find such items via the Memories FIND option or via family tree navigation.
and the only real way that they can be accessed is knowing the URL of the artifact.
So for example here is a photo of myself and my siblings
It is marked as public - but the only way to get to it is via its URL
so if I am cautious and only share this url with those I want - only those people will see the item.
personally I dont really have too much of an issue with my own photos being available. I have already posted photos of myself elsewhere on the Internet. BUT this is a personal/family decision and I totally respect those that have their own reasons for keeping photos of themselves and their family private. To each his own.
NOTE that the way to get the url of a specific item (which is not intuitive)
is to click on the share option and then the copy url. That is the only way to get the url for an artifact.
(copying the browser url address while viewing an memories item - does NOT actually copy the url of the artifact - as one would normally expect it would)
let me know if you have any further questions or doubts
One way to share photo's of living people is to use the precautions describe by Dennis above but place the photos in an album and share the url (address) of the album. I use this approach to share photos of my family with other family members. In this way only a single copy of the photo is uploaded to FamilySearch but because of living persons all have access to the same photos.
also see: https://community.familysearch.org/en/discussion/126587/tip-familysearch-albums-why-nearly-everyone-should-use-them#latest
rather this URL:
The other thing to do would be to crop the photo so only the one person is showing. Upload the cropped version.
I think the point is they WANT to share the photo - WITH the all living person in it. . . .
but they want to share it with just those people . . .
It has been my understanding that if you attached a photo to someone in your tree but make it PRIVATE, then no one can see it. This was done because the photo contained living people.
However, it seems that those PRIVATE photos can now be seen on My Heritage. I know that there is a contractual arrangement with them, but what is the point of making photos PRIVATE if they are allowing My Heritage to have them.
Can anyone tell me how to solve this issue without removing all photos? This was a question posed to me by a patron at our local FHC where I volunteer. We all felt badly as we had assured her that those photos which she attached and marked private would remain so until she removed the lock.
keep in mind if BEFORE a person made it private someone else made a copy of the photo - they could have downloaded it and uploaded it to MyHeritage
I dont think FamilySearch is sharing photos with Myheritage
BUT if someone had a copy of the photo - YES they could upload it to Myheritage
You should be able to determine WHO uploaded it to MyHeritage.
There are many cases where a photo that was passed around within an extended family - ends up submitted by different members of the family - to different sites - such as Ancestry, MyHeritage, FamilySearch.
If that is the case - one person's setting the option to private -- has no impact on copies of the photos others have uploaded.
But it should be a simple thing to see WHO uploaded the photo to MyHeritage.
and whether or not a user of FS removes any photos on FamilySearch - that has no impact on what is on MyHeritage, If something is on MyHeritage -- it is because someone UPLOADED it to MyHeritage. That is my understanding.