edited September 21, 2021 in General Questions
Someone deleted my direct line ancestor by merging her with an ancestor of his. He did no research or did not contact me regarding the deletion.
If it is possible for him to merge/delete my ancestor so easily, why is it not possible for me to unmerge and reinstate my ancestor.
You can undo a merge in Family Tree and it is easier than you think. Here are the steps.
Sign in to FamilySearch and navigate to the Person page of the individual you want to see.
- If you do not see Vitals near the top of the page, click the Details tab.
- Find the Latest Changes box.
- Click Show All.
- Find the merge. It shows "Merge" on the left side.
- When you find the merge, look at the far right side of that entry:
- If you can undo the the merge automatically, the Unmerge option is available.
- If you cannot undo the merge automatically, the Unmerge option is not available. Restore delete person instead.
- If the Unmerge option is available, follow these steps:
- Click Unmerge.
- Review the information you will restore.
- Click Unmerge again.
- If the Unmerge option is not available, follow these steps to restore the deleted person:
- Click the name of the deleted person.
- Click Person.
- Click Restore Person.
- Enter a reason statement to explain why you want to restore this person.
- Click Restore.
- Review both records. Make sure that each has the correct information. You may need to delete information from one record and add it to the another.